Target Beauty Box Review: October 2014

Target is running a $7 beauty box featuring makeup and haircare samples, and coupons to Target and DermStore. They offer the box several times a year. At the time of this post, it’s still available.

IMAG0225_1

I thought it would be a neat little treat for my mom. And she, not knowing it was from me, thought it was right up my alley and mailed it to me. We’re silly like that.

IMAG0226

The box included a card detailing all samples inside.

IMAG0227_1

It also included a coupon for $3 off a $15 Target beauty purchase, and a code for 20% off and a free gift with purchase at DermStore.com.

IMAG0229

The two haircare samples were Elnett Extra Hold Hairspray and a Fekkai (ooh, fancy!) dry shampoo. They’re the perfect size for taking on a plane.

IMAG0230_1

On the makeup side, they included a Laneige BB Cream cushion sample, including a puff for applying and three different colors for various skin tones. Three cheers for Korean skincare at Target! And for a foundation sample that doesn’t just come in “Medium.”

IMAG0232_1

NYX is a line I know and love and I was excited they included an eye pencil of theirs in the box. White is especially good for lining inner rims/faking the awake look. I say this with an 8:30 AM meeting looming tomorrow… Rounding out the pack is a L’Oreal Colour Riche Lipstick in Nude Ballet. I didn’t open it, but My Subscription Addiction has a great picture of the color – it seems to be universally flattering, and I love that it’s in a gloss-type format; I’m not a big fan of traditional lipstick.

IMAG0231_1

Verdict: I am annoyingly picky about my skincare, haircare, and cosmetics. With a few exceptions, they have to come from a certified cruelty-free line. So out of the box, the only keeper for me was the NYX eye pencil and $3 coupon. Even so, these two items meet the box’s $7 value (as a Target debit card holder, I also got 5% off and free shipping). The entire box is worth $28 and includes generous samples and full-size products and is a great deal for haircare and makeup lovers. And I’m happy to get to pass on my unopened goodies to my friends Nikki and Angela!

Leave a Reply

