Madison Reed At-Home Hair Color Review

Madison Reed is an at-home hair color kit purchased online and shipped to your home. It’s $29.95 for a one-time kit or $24.95 for a subscription.

image

My natural color gets lighter and washed out during the summer. I was looking for something to bring the red out. So when I got a coupon for Madison Reed from Le Tote, I figured I’d give it a shot.

image

Before

You take a quiz on your current hair color, hair type, skin tone, etc. and are given some options for hair color. I with Genoa red; the other options were too vibrant or too blonde.

image

The kit comes with everything you need: two pairs of gloves, barrier cream for your ears, neck, and forehead, a cleansing wipe to remove any drips on skin, color, color creme, shampoo, conditioner, and – most importantly – instructions.

The website also has a plethora of how-to videos along with on-demand color consultants.

image

The process was easy: you section your hair into four parts (OK, one aside here – it shows you doing so using clips.  I don’t know anyone who just has hair salon clips lying around. Maybe they could include them in the kit? I used hair ties). After mixing the color, don gloves and color along your roots first. Then you go down the rest of your hair. Wait times depend on if you’re coloring for the first time or doing a touch up.

When time’s up, put on gloves and wash then condition using the provided shampoo and conditioner. There will be enough of them left over for a week or two of uses.

image

After

Verdict: Gentle, paraben free, luxury, affordable hair color – I like it! It smelled great and didn’t dry out my hair or irritate my scalp. At first, the color came out a little more brunette than I’d like, but it’s since faded to being closer to my natural, lighter red. It’s subtle enough that no one even noticed I’d dyed my hair, which is exactly what I was going for. If I need to color again, I’ll be using Madison Reed.

Leave a Reply

