Julep Maven: May 2014 Review

Julep Maven is a monthly nail polish subscription box. For $20 a month, you’ll receive a mix of Julep nail polish and beauty products. Other perks include free shipping, 20% off at julep.com, earning free credits, and more. There are several different box options each month. For May, I picked the Bombshell.
WIN_20140427_203935
This month was a special edition. Julep did a crowdfunding to create the Plie Wand. It’s an extended “wand” that snaps onto your nail polishes to change (and allegedly improve) the way you paint your nails. It comes with the standard brush, but you can also buy ones for spotting and striping.
WIN_20140427_204041
I’m excited to give it a try and could definitely see myself getting the Creativity Kit for it someday.
WIN_20140427_204205
The two polishes include in this month’s Bombshell box were Saaya, a golden apricot shimmer, and Laree, a golden pink taffeta shimmer. A bonus for those of us who crowdfunded was Yumi, a pink, silver, and holographic glitter. I LOVE these colors for summer. I’m thinking poolside cocktails… (can’t wait for my Vegas vacation in June!). And I will never say no to glitter!
WIN_20140427_204111
In addition was a coupon for the site, a coupon for an upcoming Glycolic hand scrub, and detailed instructions for using the new Plie wand. Vegeta, my cat, was not included in the box.

Verdict: Also not included was a topcoat I added on to this month’s box… I contacted customer service about it. They’ve always replied promptly and professionally, so I’m not worried. This is the first box I’ve opted into for a while (if you joined the Maven program before December 2013, you have the option to skip months; newcomers unfortunately do not). I love the colors and am excited for the wand. I also love that Julep donates some proceeds to charity, uses natural ingredients, and I’m a huge fan of their parlors here in Seattle. This box is a great value!
Edit: Because Julep sent the Maven boxes out early, they’re shipping addons separately this month. Thanks for the info, Jessie!

Referral: If you purchase a membership through my link, you will receive your first box free and I will receive a $10 credit.

Leave a Reply

